Thinking [boxes] Thursday

routine

I would say that makes sense, but here’s the thing:  I kind of like routine.  I do not like monotony – I do like to switch it up, but within the safe confines of my routine. I realize that may sound a little crazy, a little impossible, but that’s how I am most comfortable.  A basic routine… very general… with many variations inside of that big ol’ box of comfort.

comfortzone

Sir, however, keeps me teetering on the edge of my comfort zone.. and often pushes me right on over.  I was recently given a task I thought I would not be able to complete.  I may have cried a little bit and I definitely had a lot of anxiety over it.  In fact, I went so far as to tell Sir I just couldn’t do it.  I was swiftly informed that wasn’t even an option.

againstthewind

He said “Rise my beautiful girl.”  (swoon…)  After words like that, how the hell could I not comply?  And so I did.  I completed the task with red cheeks, shaky hands and more embarrassment than a person should be allowed to feel.  Even more than that, though, I felt pride and relief that I was able to overcome those insecure feelings and just get it done.  I fought through it and I tried my best.  I haven’t gotten any feedback just yet, but I feel pretty good about the job I did.

 

As Sir keeps pushing me outside my box of safety, the lines blur more and more.  Soon enough, I imagine the box will disappear altogether and then where will my safety lie!?  I actually know that answer: with my Husband!  He has always been my safety and my comfort.  I see now that the box has only served as a place for me to hide and I want it gone.

neverseealone

So, for my Sir, my Husband, who has always been there to push me and to catch me – I am forever indebted!  Truly, I am not the boss (still working on that bracelet) and never want to be again.  He knows what he’s doing.  He knows, better than I, what I need.  Sir brings out the best… the MOST… in me and I will always do my utmost to rise for Him.

~shygirl

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Thinking [boxes] Thursday

  1. This is so genuinely sweet! I love reading about couples making their lives work on their own terms.

    My favorite quote on this topic: “leap and the net will appear.”

    Still easier said than done sometimes!

    Like

Tell me something

