not the crazy

image

I don’t eat fortune cookies, though I do love the fortunes! I tore this one as I pulled it out, and was rather pleased with what it said.

Feeling triumphant and more than a little justified… I held it up for Sir to read, with a smug smile on my face.

“Seeeeeeeeeeee….” I said, so happy that the fortune cookie gods were on my page! (Sometimes a girl takes any validation she can get.)

Sir shook His head (hmpf!) and chuckled…

“Intuition, yes. Not the crazy stuff you make up in your head.”

I laughed. The kids laughed. It was pretty funny! It was also a little deflating, I must say. You see… I am a huge believer in gut instincts. There were a few major times in my younger life when I ignored those instincts and it turned out so badly. I learned my lesson the hardest of ways!!

image

And so it goes that ever since they were little, I have hammered into the children to take heed… If a little voice or a nagging feeling says something isn’t right, please listen your intuition!! So I fully believe in, support, and applaud intuition.

image

But… Sir is also correct. Sort of. In my brain, there is non-stop thinking and worrying, dissecting and over-analyzing. I admit that on occasion (oh stop laughing!), I am consumed with it all. The worst case scenario is usually my sleep stealer or my dream invader. I linger on words and on silence, blowing them up bigger than life.

image

So what then? What do I do? I try to balance the intuition with the runaway brain. It’s not always easy…or even possible… but I do try.

And I still wholeheartedly believe in the ability to…

image

If anyone has thoughts on this, lay ’em on me!
Happy Monday…at least it’s winding down.
~shygirl

4 thoughts on “not the crazy

  1. I love the “don’t believe every thing you think” … holy hannah! So true. I have encountered so many women, especially submissive women who are chronic over-thinkers – what is it about us that makes us so prone to overthink and make ourselves crazy?

    But … I do agree on the sheer intuition. When I’ve ignored my intuition (not that it is always ringing a bell) I’ve regretted it. And then, of course, kicked myself because I ignored it! Double whammy!

    So, I try to pay attention to that “Danger Will Robinson” voice … but I also work hard to not talk myself into something that seems like intuition but is just my worrying nature taking over my head space. Definitely a balancing act.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I walk with my head. I leap with my gut. I don’t know if that makes sense or not, but it’s what I thought of. The crazy, overly analytical part of my brain lets me navigate the day-to-day life, the life that needs logic and assessment to function in. But underneath it lies this primal fire, and when it flares, I listen. Or try to. I fuck it up sometimes. As long as I don’t unduly embrace negativity from the logic side, I can trust the fire pretty well. It is when my head goes dark that my heart gets murky and blind.

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me something

